The Member Who Never Came Back 

Mystery member (free clip art)

Mystery member (free clip art)

by Anonymous

I‘m the person who came to every meeting, but nobody paid any attention to me. I tried several times to be friendly, but everyone seemed to have his or her own friends to talk to and sit with. I sat down with some unfamiliar faces several times, but they didn’t seem to notice me.

I hoped somebody would ask me to join one of the committees or to participate and contribute somehow, but nobody did. Finally, because of illness, I missed a meeting. The next month, no one asked where I had been. I guess it didn’t matter very much whether I was there or not.

On the next meeting date, I decided to stay home and watch a good television program. When I attended the following meeting, no one asked where I was the month before.

You may say that I’m a good person, a good family member–that I hold a responsible job and love my community. You know who else I am?

I’m the member who never came back.

